What do you do in the off season in ca. To train for deer season?

Fishingkid

I know you average weekend warrior doesn't prepare for hunting season all year long. What are you guys doing to train and prepare for this years California deer season? I have been hunting deer in California for the last 11 years. I have only hunted out of state 2 times. 90 percent of my hunting is in socal. I try training every year I usually don't stay on track until the last month before season. Fishing and recreational boating gets in the way. This year I plan to train harder than previous years how do you train? And how do you stay on track in 100 plus degree weather?

In my experience, most people won't spend hardly a breath to prepare or "train" for deer in CA.

In January my brother and I booked a trip to Wyoming this October for elk and my training went into gear. I've been using a product called MTN OPS to help and am very pleased with the results. Hitting the gym 6-7 days a week focusing mostly on cardio and some light lifting. To date I'm down almost 35 lbs and feel great. I'm running in the area of 3-5 miles a day and focusing on core strength. Even though the Elk trip is the ultimate prize in my case my fitness will certainly help my CA deer hunts as well. For me I've always fallen off in the summer months because the fitness level wasn't where it should be going into summer so working out seemed so much harder. For me having a better fitness before the heat hits will help, and I do 90% of my workouts in the early morning.

I am just getting back in shape. Had a few injuries the last couple of years. I run as much and lift weights, also with a strong focus on my core. But to change it up I hike all the local trails. Good thing about living in SoCal is most deer are non migratory so you can also get out and scout. You can hike alot different trails in Angeles Crest, and the San Bernadino Mountains. Trails around and near Wrightwood, and Big Bear are a good place to start.