Wilderness Guide Law

Interesting read for sure!

Always hear the 'safety' excuse used for why NR hunters cant hunt without a guide in Canada. Still makes me shake my head at times.

I support WY resident's success on getting 90/10 allocation on the Big 5. They should be able to have 90/10 it for D/E/A also if they want it.

But the NR wilderness law needs to go. That rule makes 90/10 effectively like 95/5 for NR DIY guys. As Wyoming isn't really giving the NR 10% of the opportunity when so many of the animals are in the wilderness area.

So, we should expect the current 90/10 states to progress to 95/5 allocation to keep up with Wyoming.

Discriminatory laws become a tit-for-tat - so Wyoming should prepare for the return punch.

Im a resident and i dont agree with it but i enjoy it? Theres many places on the west side of the state that the wilderness would require horse power to get into and to get critters hauled out (especially elk). One thing i wonder is how many nr would either be able to bring their own horses or have the knowledge to rent and go on their own? Im guessing many people hire guides in the wilderness just because thats the only way they can get it done. Not saying a man cant kill an elk and spend the next week getting it out on his back but in bear county thats a looooong week.

Correct SS, should have listed that my bad. I went 8 days solo on a fly in on a caribou hunt. Awesome time, killed 2 caribou and watched a white wolf and a wolverine on the gut piles.
You can hunt the Wyoming wilderness too, just not big or trophy game.

I used to be against the wilderness law in both WY and the requirement for an outfitter in AK. But honestly now I'm ok with it. Call it greed or what you want but the thought of a bunch of utards coming up to do DIY sheep hunts puts a sour taste in my mouth.