Will Nonresident deer tags sell out this year?

BrianID

Very Active Member
A month ago, I would have guessed that the nonresident deer tags would sell out by early August. Not because the deer hunting has been good, but because demand was up.

If the economy doesn't bounce back by this fall, I wouldn't be surprised if the nonresident deer tags actually don't sell out this year.

What does everyone else think?

I think any non res who plans to hunt idaho should get while the gettin is good, and not count on lower tag sales. I got mine in december.

Would think lot hunters will wait and see. Is economy in shambles? are states still struggling with health care? Sure some have already committed and will follow thru. I pick up garbage for a living, not glamorous but definitely essential! Hopefully by fall we are back to some semblance of normalcy. The thing that appealed to a lot of nonresident and residents was being able to get that second tag or first in September or October during recession. Everyone could wait and see if they had openings in there hunt calendars. Last year before price hike as well.

I think they will sell out. Aside from the economy, this is the last year before non residents prices are substantially increased especially for youth. I’m a non resident and plan to hunt Idaho this year with my kids, because it’ll likely be my last year before I can’t afford to take the kids on an out of state hunt.

My mistake I meant Resident fees. Our tags are too cheap as it is. 19.00 for a Deer tag and 31.00 for Elk.
I agree with you Excalibur. The only problem is the last time IFG went to the legislature for an increase, the legislators wanted a bunch of riders attached to the increase. Until you get IFB out of the legislature, you’ll play hell in getting a clean increase.

Idaho and these other states that raised fees substantially this year are gonna eat crow. Terribly unlucky timing for their recent fee increase.