Worth buying an elk tag?

callsalot

I will be hunting Colorado 3rd season deer in unit 70 this year. It will be my third time doing so. A friend who has hunted it more than me said he always sees some elk on this trip where I've only seen cows the first time and no elk the second time. He says the elk tag that coincides with the 3rd season deer is over the counter. Any thoughts on if it's worth picking up an elk tag in case I see a bull while deer hunting?

The OTC tags will be bull tags. Unless you get some substantial snow the odds of success will be low. If you are a NR that is a big price to pay for low odds.

That said if the day before the season there is a big snowstorm on The horizon ???

txhunter58

venor, ergo sum (I hunt, therefore I am)

I'm a non resident, I'm assuming you can buy a OTC tag up to the day before season. Thanks for you thoughts.

Correct. Tags can be purchased anywhere up to the day before the season. After the season opens they can only be purchased at CPW offices

txhunter58

The other question is will you shoot a raghorn or not? If not, then likely not worth it. If yes, then you have a hard decision to make!

This is just a fun hunt for me. In 2006 this was and awesome deer hunt but in 2014 it was not even close so I've resolved myself just to have fun and get an average buck or better and an elk would be a bonus. So to make a long answer shorter, yes I would shoot any legal bull.

I hunted unit 70 second season with some friends of mine that live there , last year, awesome unit " scenery wise" , I started around 11000 ft. then came down as the season progressed, not much for snow saw a couple elk. but its same old story the majority were down a private so my advise if you go is to hunt lower. good luck

I hunted 3rd season deer last year and 4th season the year before, and I did not see an elk in the daylight. I would not buy an elk tag.

No I wouldn't roll the dice for the amount of elk you might see.