Wyoming Attrition Rate: Non-Resident Moose/Sheep

crcountry

Hello All:

So I don't have to keep saving/printing all of the preference point totals.....what is the percent of Non-resident preference point holders who drop out of the system every year for Moose and sheep?

5%?....10%?....

I have 14 points for Moose/Sheep: I can't help but notice that I have 2500 people ahead of me for Sheep and 3089 for Moose....but I'm not stopping. I will hunt sheep and moose in WY!....I hope before I die.

I'm 47 and ready for the next 20+ years of backcountry adventures.....
Thanks
Chris

I don't know if G&F tracks attrition. As a resident, I dropped out of the points game with sheep. At present rate I'll be 78 before I might get drawn and the rate my joints are wearing down, it is unlikely I could pull off that kind of hunt. Not the age, just the mileage. I don't mind, though have heard bighorn is tasty and would've liked to try it. Hopefully some of us backing out increases the odds for others to draw sooner.

There's around 200 sheep tags issued a year, around 400 moose tags...so you lose that many, a majority in the upper point pools and in the preference end of the draw. Depends if you're a resident or non-resident. With only 40 sheep tags going to the NR point holders in front of you...and with over 2000 in front of you...that math doesn't pencil out that you'll for sure draw from the preference pool. Assuming nobody in front of you drops out...and you're the unluckiest of the lot, 50+ years to draw. That also doesn't include all the applicants in your point pool either.

Trying to guess when you will draw depends a lot on how many tags are issued. The trend since the 70's has been less and less permits for both species. In the case of sheep, licenses have declined by about half from 400 to 200...moose from 2000 to about 400 a year.