6.5X300WSM

Avsman

I recently found a guy in Utah that is working on this caliber building custom rifles, Just woundering if anyone else has any experience with this caliber. Heres what hes puttin in to the gun for a very reasonable price,

Remington 700 SA action
BenchMark Stainless 24" Barrel with Sendero taper With 3 groove 1x8twist
MacTac Break
Heavy Fluted
Rubber Inlay
Ceramic Coat Barrel+Action
Modified Trigger
Floor Plate Coating
Harris Bipods
TPS Rings
TPS Barrel Base
Leupold VXIII 4.5-14x40mm MilDot
HS Thumbhole Stock
20 Rounds loaded
Guranteed to shoot .250" at 100" or better when you get it

Im no gun expert but from what Ive heard this is an extremely versitile caliber from prarie dogs to moose.

The 8 twist should be good for 140-160 grain bullets. A little overkill for PD with bullet weight and amount of powder used. The case capacity is slightly less than a 264 WM so consider near equal performance. I view my 6.5 WSM as a great deer and antelope caliber.

RR

Guaranteed 1/4 inch at 100 yards? Is that what you are saying? My math is rusty, but that is what I saw. mtmuley

he actually said .250 at 100 inches...which is easy even without rifling the barrel....

JB

LAST EDITED ON Apr-06-08 AT 11:13PM (MST)[p]Edit; d13r, i'm gonna assume his 100" was a typo/math mistake, good catch though!

.250 = 1/4", yes. piece of cake, can o'corn, easy as pie, shooten fish in... That would be a pertty darn good day with anything i own, anytime, any place. i'm happy with half to three quarters.

Actually, i can't, i have but wouldn't bet on doing it again, and know darn few who ever consistantly shot 1/4 inch groups @ 100 yds with a hunting rifle.

To guarntee that? Sounds great, might be true, but that's a red flag IMO, buyer beware.