Crimping

pls009

I've been reloading for only a couple years for a couple bolt rifles that I have and haven't been crimping. I have a Browning Bar 30-06 that I would like to start making loads for. Do I need to start crimping since this is a semi auto? Anyone have experience with this? I don't like to crimp and am hoping for someone to tell me what I want to hear but if I need to learn to crimp, I will. If anyone wants to offer what load works good for them for their 30-06 in 180 gr bullets, I'm all ears! Thanks for the advice and taking the time to respond - Paul

I used to load for my dada's BAR 7 mag and I never crimped, and I never had a problem with it. they do say you should though.

I had to get a set of small base dies for it, you could try standards but don't be surprised if you have problems.

+1 my friend also loaded for the auto and had issues using standard dies. Had to purchase the smaller dies or had case sizing issues. He also does not crimp.

))))------->

Thanks for the replies guy's! I went out and bought a set of small dies. I had no idea there was such a thing - I'm glad I asked.

I am looking at doing trying the crimping. I have a freind that uilds long range custom coyote guns. He told me crimping will give you more consistent velocities. I will try it and let you know.

Since you are reloading, there is something you should be aware of if you are going to crimp and expect consistant bullet pull to get you that consistant velocity.

You have to be sure and trim your brass so that all of the brass is the same lenght in order that the crimp will apply even pull resistance. If you get a case that is longer then the others, your crimp will be excessive and your accuracy goes South in a hurry.

RELH

LAST EDITED ON Jan-21-12 AT 11:14PM (MST)[p]>I am looking at doing trying
>the crimping. I have
>a freind that uilds long
>range custom coyote guns.
>He told me crimping will
>give you more consistent velocities.
> I will try it
>and let you know.