Flying Nevada?

Buckhunter1

I have a chance to fly my antelope unit to get a lay of the land. Does the 48 hour rule apply only to my rifle tag or any hunt in the unit with any weapon for any animal? BH1

I am a pilot and have wondered the same thing. I would like to fly the country to see what it looks like more than whats there.

It's my understanding that you CAN?T as long as there is ANY big game season underway in that unit... including Mt.Lion...which is on from March through February statewide.

I was told a guy with a Rocky Mtn. Sheep tag was hammered for doing it two years ago. The penalty was pretty stiff.

I'm sorry, but I believe that the above post is incorrect. Check out page 13 of this years regulations. The lion hunt is not considered a big game hunt for the purposes of flying if there are not any other big game hunts going on in the specific hunt unit at that time. Basically, you can't fly from 48 hours before the start of the 1st big game hunt of the year until after the final hunt has ended for the year. The regulations spell it our pretty clearly. You can download them from the NDOW website.

Hey Downsouth you are absolutely spot-on! I called a warden in Nevada a few minutes ago and he said the same thing. I wanted to fly this Saturday for my Aug 22nd rifle tag but the BOWHUNTERS start on Sunday so Im not before the 48 hr cut off, so I wont be flying this year. And the fine for doing so is harsh!! BH1

I could be wrong but doesnt that only apply to someone in the plane having a tag that opens in 48 hours? I fly over area 10 all the time looking for water and pockets to hike to.

nevadaanimatedhelmetwd2.gif