Hearing aids

Stonefly

Very Active Member
Ok folks, how many here, wear hearing aids. Im getting my first set tomorrow. I was told 40 years ago my hearing was bad. I am a tinner by trade, and we all have bad hearing, iv shot pistols in compatitions for 25 years, and long range for almost as long. I use earmuffs when I shoot, problem is I take them off to hear, when Im not shooting. Always some buster caps off a round with his loud muzzel break , when nobody has muffs on and are talking. ANYWAY. After being tested I wad recomended Phonex hearing aids. Haveing fitted and programed tomorrow. Would like to hear from others about how you use yours, hunting, shooting, outdoors ingeneral.

Lol Bess i am getting them a costo, in orem. I am hear now, drove for an hour and 20 mins, to get here. My apointment is at 930 thats when they open. And right now at 9am there is a line, a block and a half long, starting at the door. I told the costco guy, i aint standing in a line to give them $2200 for dam hearing aids. He said when they open i can just go on ahead of the shoppers.

Just got hearing aids about 6 weeks ago. Got tired of having to increase the TV volumne. Also got at Costco.

I've worn hearing aids for 25 + years. I'm sure you suffered from sticker shock when you priced them out! They have come a long way in development over the years. The more you spend, the better the quality and capabilities. Some brands will suppress sudden loud noises, adjust to room noise, etc. Some even have Blu-tooth capabilities. Phonak, Odicon, Nu-ear, etc., they are all good. I'm due for a new pair soon. I tried a couple of different brands recently at my audiologist, $6,500-$8,500. Thank God for insurance!
I'm going to check out Costco as well. I've heard their mark-up isn't as high as the smaller, independent hearing centers.