Hello, from Boise, Idaho!

LAST EDITED ON Dec-24-16 AT 10:29PM (MST)[p]Jonathan M. Bailey, Gun Owners of America Member

I am new in Boise, ID.

I am interested in taking up wing-shooting here in Idaho: doves, pheasants, grouse, possibly other upland birds. Not much interest in ducks: I hate the notion of sitting in cold, wet blinds or pits and freezing to death. No big game, too much work. Possible interest in coyotes/predators/varmints.

Upland birds sounds like a casual, non-strenuous walk in the flat fields of farmlands over dogs and ideal for me. Always there has to be canine buddies afield for me as I am a dog lover. I will have to learn the basics of shotgun marksmanship/wing-shooting training at clay birds as I am only experienced with rifles. I have read dove hunting books and hear these little cooing critters are daunting to shoot at. The big brag in doves is about who can bag the daily limit with the LEAST number of shells banged from the same gun. Firing ten boxes of shells to limit out is no big deal and a gross waste of ammo and money!!

I have a little deer hunting and ground-squirrel
shooting experience.

Oh, and Merry Christmas and a Happy Donald Trump New Year!

LAST EDITED ON Dec-27-16 AT 01:55PM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Dec-27-16 AT 12:16?PM (MST)

LAST EDITED ON Dec-27-16 AT 12:12?PM (MST)

Jonathan M. Bailey, Gun Owners of America Member

I stand correct. Doves are quite EASY to SHOOT AT but I should have said that (according to what I have read in books over the years) a single dove is rather DAUNTING to actually HIT and BRING DOWN with a cloud of bird shot from a single shotgun shell!

If you can bag a limit with no more than a box of shells I gather your "number two" (avoiding fowl (bird-hunting pun intended) language) does not stink!

Yep. I guess my #2 does not stink, by your definition.