Is there anything else I can do?

wyobackcountry

So my bait has been set up about 3 weeks. I've got around 25-30 gallons of dead rotten cows and 10-15 pounds of dead (non game, suckers) fish. I've added "attractants" of liquid smoke, maple syrup, chocolate syrup, and vanilla extract to the trails and trees around my bait. I also sweetened my barrel with barely legal sweetener. I'm a newb at bear baiting and so far am having no luck, except a nightly visit by a pine martin. Is there anything else I can do to draw in a bear?

Wait another week. I am lucky to see a bear before the 1st, but usually after the 7th before things really get busy.

Will do. I did (half a$$) bait once before, a few years ago and didn't see a bear until June.
I do understand it's early, just wondering if there were any other things I could do to increase my odds once they start picking up?

Its still early. You will be ok. Don't spend all you're time or gas money yet. They are starting to move. It will get better.

Give them something to eat. you got all the stink bait you need. It was my my experience that they prefered pastries over anything else.

I would love to be packing doughnuts over stinky dead cows any day of the week. Unfortunatley in my area I cannot use anything processed for human consumption as bait, so that pretty much limits me to cattle. Do you think it would be beneficial for me to add a bunch of dog food?

I have had lots of good luck with dog food and maple syrup. Just dont take to much in at a time. The rain and snow plays hell with it if it gets wet. Let me know when you get a bear, and I'll have my beetles go to work on it.

Sounds good! Preacher I saved your contact info from prior conversations and plan on bringing you several heads this year. Good luck this year and I can't wait to see one of your giant bucks.
Thanks guys.