Any opinions?
6050img_0682.jpg

7675img_0683.jpg

2334img_0684.jpg

553img_0686.jpg

2296img_0687.jpg

No expert here but---

Nannie....

Distance between bases and not much shoulder bulk.

Granted being shed in the front and still shedding mid-body back may make the shoulder area seem skinny...

Robb

No expert here either but I'm also with Robb and Zeke - Nannie. Besides the reasons they gave, the horns also look like they have the nannie characteristic sharp hook at the tips instead of the gradual curve of a billy's horns...

Horniac

Ok, I'll play and like the others have stated, I am far from an expert. I see this as a younger Billy, and here's why:

- Picture 2 & 5 shows the more gradual curve of the horn
- Look at the face. The face is shorter and blockier than the longer, more angular face of a Nanny
- There appears to be a slight shoulder hump in all but one of the pictures
- The bases of the horns are fairly thick and not a lot of space overall between the horns. Picture 1, 4, & 5 shows this the best. There aren't the thinner, spindly horns that slightly taper to the top that one sees on a Nanny. There is a very pronounced taper within the last few inches of the horn
- The bases are wider than the eye. Picture 2 shows this the best. A Billy's bases will be wider than its eye
- The facing on picture 3 shows the makings of a nice "V", not the very pronounced, really wide "V" near the top of the horns of a Nanny

If I had to guess, I would say he is around 7 to possibly 8 inches or so and most likely could be considered a harvestable trophy later in the hunt.

I am still learning at judging Goats, so I will find this interesting as I have deviated from what the others have said.

BTW, nice pictures. Where were they taken, Utah?

Thanks,
Garion33

I could be influenced by each argument! I've taken some online quizes put out by Colorado and Alaska and they both say you have to see a Billy's goods to be sure he's really a billy. I guess I need Robbs video.