Newbie measuring powder

chindits

I have never played with MLers before. I am in CO so loose powder is my option.

A friend gave me a few speed loaders with powder already in them. Out of curiosity I got my reloading scale out and measured their weights. They were running the range of 79.2 to 83.5 for what was suppose to be a 100 gr volume measure.

So I get out my brand new volume measure thing a ma jig and set it for 100 gr volume. I try 6 loads and weigh each one. I have a variance of 71 to 73.4.

As a total novice I ask, does not a consistent measures of powder matter for consistent shots with a ML?

Is there a way I can improve my consistency with a volume measure?

Should I just be weighing out my powder since I have the equipment for it?

I tried a search, but I guess I didn't use the right word combinations to come up with this topic that has probably been beaten in to the ground.

I appreciate your suggestions and knowledge.

Dont worry about charge weight.

I will fill my volume measurer heaping full and give it a few flicks with my finger like its a shot needle to settle everything in then level it off.

Level it off & Load it!

We're shootin Big Game out to 150 Yards!

Not trying to hit a Gnats Ass at a 1,000+!:D

This Story happens alot it's True!
But Ya Best Hope it don't ever happen to you!

LAST EDITED ON Jul-09-13 AT 02:21PM (MST)[p]Best grouping I could get with my muzzleloader is the 245gr powerbelts with 79-80 grains pyrodex. Makes a difference when you are shooting out to 200+ yards. I'll be coming to Colorado this september.

I'm not one for telling my grandson how big of turd I had to pinch off from having to eat so much meat. I want to give them the antlers that hang from my wall and tell him the unforgettable experience that came with each and every one.