Off day practicing?

bigbull1

Very Active Member
Since I got my new bow, I've been shooting daily for about two months. Started with the new 08 Marin Bengal, put on the mini S-Coil, worked out the peep twist and switched to the G5 Meta Peep, changed sights to Spot Hogg SDP, switched arrows to Easton Axix Infused. Getting better every day with good groups. Feeling absolute on to 60 yards and hitting a small Block target 100% at 80 yards. Things are going perfect...till yesterday!

I was a little off at 20yds and so-so at 30yds. 40 yds, was decent with one flyer (I jerked). Then at 50yds I split between the block and hay bale and bust the arrow. At 60 yds, drop one barely on the target, and at 70 yards, disaster. Miss the target with three arrows, losing one, breaking one, and finding one in the sage brush.

The only thing I did a bit different yesterday, was trying to lock my off elbow before drawing. Same anchors, same release, same breathing. Could the locking my off arm make such a difference?

Any thoughts appreciated!

Ed

480d0bca7e99b1d5.jpg

LAST EDITED ON Apr-21-08 AT 07:25PM (MST)[p]I don't know what locking your off elbow before drawing means but I assume it means you are locking your elbow that holds your bow.

If this is what you are doing don't!

You never want to lock your elbow! You will be stronger with a slightly bent elbow. The only way I can explain what good form should look like is let your arm hang buy your side. Now just lift up your arm like you are holding your bow this is what you want your arm to look like.

You will shoot tighter groups with a relaxed shooting arm/elbow, relaxed bow grip and a relaxed shooting hand.

I am not sure if this makes any sense but I hope it does good luck!

Archery staff shooter for
Utah National Guard
GOLD TIP arrows
Sneaky

Archery is a year round commitment!!