Pac Nor Barrel Questions

oregonmuley

Very Active Member
Just a question for anyone that might know about Pac Nor barrels. On another post saw some good info from Jeff aka Rost495 - Jeff if you want to respond I'd sure appreciate it. Anyway, what can you tell me about Pac Nor. It seems they make a good barrel and seem to provide good service. I'm thinking about having my Rem 700 rebarreled and have checked all the aftermarket makers - Shilen, Krieger, Douglas, Lilja, Hart and so on. Seems they all do good work but I live in Oregon, and my girlfriends folks live about an hour from Brookings so I could go downt to Pac Nor directly. Anyway, after reading info on their website, they claim bore diameters end to end within .0003 inch, which seems really good but I'm not that technical. Just was reading Kenny Jarrett's website about his barrels and he claims his are within .0001, which he says you need for 1/2 MOA guns. I guess what I'm asking is how do I put together the best rifle without spending a small furtune which I don't have. Just would like an accurate rifle that is not like everyother one out there. Also, if I have it rebarreled, does anyone (Jeff) know if Pac Nor does it, or a good gunsmith in Oregon that would. Thanks and sorry for all the questions.
Thanks
Frank

Pac Nor makes good barrels. They have a bad one now and then like anyone but will stand behind it.

I have a buddy that had them rebarrel an 06. It shoots about half inch regular. So yes they'll do the work and for a hunting rifle they do good work.

Now I'm working on a 338 off the 300 RUM case. The smith I'm working with there used Lilja and gets great groups. I"m kinda shy of them as I know they had some barrels not last very long. Very accurate but in 223 they died at 1700 rounds which is not much.