Poaching - Philosophical Question

338magblaster

So I am sitting in the office this morning and I overhear a conversation between a couple of people, one of whom went deer hunting over the weekend...

Here is the crux of what was discussed:

"Did you get one?"

"Yeah, I hit it in the leg and man, it was flying when I shot it... We eventually killed it. We must have shot at it 10 times. I eventually finished it off."

"Did you bring it home?"

"No, my nephew tagged it. I wanted to go out again later in the hunt."

There was more, but this much disgusted me.

Now that you know how I feel, there are multiple things that disgust me about this.

1) Openly discussing party hunting (READ POACHING).
2) Admitting to unethical shot selection
3) Teaching a presumably younger hunter that these practices are acceptable.

Does our understanding that these killing practices are WRONG only develop as you get older? I have been hunting for 30 years and I will admit that attitdudes about this sort of thing have changed (at least for me) over the years.

In addition, I couldn't help but wonder what others within earshot were thinking. We as a hunting community need to be aware that opinions are being formulated and solidified everytime there is an open conversation about hunting.

Is it just me?

I am interested in others thoughts.

Thanks,

LAST EDITED ON Oct-22-07 AT 09:44AM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Oct-22-07 AT 09:42 AM (MST)

I still can't stop laughing from watching the KSL news last night. They are talking about the deer hunter that apparently shot himself in the stomach up by Kamas. (How the hell do you shoot yourself in the stomach with a rifle?)

Anyway, they interview some deer hunter... Greg something was his name I think. Tell me this - Why do they always manage to find the biggest clown on the mountain to interview? Where the hell do they find these people?????