Point question

seven

LAST EDITED ON Feb-03-14 AT 08:52AM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Feb-03-14 AT 08:51?AM (MST)

I'm new to the Colorado system and plan on just applying for points this year. I've been looking through the regs for a while but am still a little fuzzy on a few things. Hopefully some with more wisdom and experience can help me out.

1. If I choose a point for my first choice for deer, for example, I have to pay $354 (NR license fee cost), but get refunded the full amount minus:
$3 processing fee
$10 habitat stamp fee
$25 due to the fact I have not previously purchased 'an annual
fishing, small-game, resident combination small-game and fishing, furbearer, or a big-game license in the previous year;
or a current limited license in the draw'.

So the amount I would be refunded $316 correct? Does that come in the form of a check after the draws take place, or is it automatically refunded to the card used to pay for the purchase?

2. Can you apply for points for more than one species in the same year, or are you limited to one species/year?

Thanks in advance for the help.

I think the point cost will now be $40.00 instead of $25.00. When you fill out your app. there's a box you check for refund and they send you a check after the draw. You can apply for any/all species you want.

As mentioned above, the fee has been increased to $40 this year. Otherwise you have it figured out. You will receive your refund in the form of a check, and you may purchase points for all species.

On the first page of the big game hunting planner at the bottom of the page it says 'all non-resident big game licenses include an annual fishing license.' Is that what you referring to?

Don't think so. Here is what last years brochure said about it:

9. $25 pr eference point fee Hunters
will be automatically assessed $25 for a
preference point unless they have purchased
one of the following: an annual
fishing, small-game, resident combination
small-game and fishing, furbearer, or