Shed Dogs

zekers

Very Active Member
I am kicking around getting another dog since Zeke passed this summer, and a shed hunting partner sounds good. I am a heeler guy, and I still have a 7 year old red heeler. Can these breeds be trained to shed hunt? Are there better, yet similar, breeds? I know labs are popular, but I'd rather stick with a heeler/austrailian shepherd type dog. Suggestions?

I'm not an expert but I've been able to get my dog to find a few sheds. In my opinion, any smart dog that wants to please can be trained to find sheds. It seems that sight is pretty important for most of the sheds that my dog finds, there is some scent on fresh sheds and probably a little scent on older sheds, but he uses his eyes the most. So you don't have to have a good nose on your dog just good eyes. I have a lab/german shorthair and his retrieving is helpful I think but not essential. The deal breaker is whether your new dog wants to please and is smart enough to understand what you want him to do.

I have some pups on the classifieds. The mother is a chocolate lab, father is Australian Shepard/blue Heller and collie. 4 weeks old I am starting them around antlers. If your interested.

labs are the best for shed hunting. my dog is awesome
here's a video clip i took when i found an antler to show him picking it up and he found the other side

"I've hunted almost every day of my life, The rest have been wasted"

I've wondered about blue heelers as shed hunters myself. They have plenty of energy to run around all day. And although my lab finds some antlers through smell, she finds most by site.
Blue heelers are very good at playing fetch and I feel that if a dog can learn to fetch then he can learn to find sheds.
I think, as stated above, it is more important to find the right individual. A dog that puts pleasing his master as his soul purpose in life. fatrooster.