Shoulder Surgery??

spotit1st

Has anyone ever had surgery on their Bicep Tendon and if so how did you recover to archery hunting?

I just recently had this taken care of and I am concerned about returning to bowhunting the doctor said it shouldn't effect me bowhunting but I am always leary of what they say, and hoping maybe someone here in the archery forum who has had a similar surgery can give me some positive feedback!!

Hey spotit1st. I am currently a pre-med student at the University of Utah and I have worked in physical therapy for almost five years now. In my experience it seems that most patients who have work done on their bicep tendon recover fairly well. It depends on the severity of the injury/surgery. Do you know what they did exactly or what your rehab outlook is? They will usually give you a ballpark estimate to return to full activity. While you do use your bicep tendon while drawing a bow a little, you primarily use the muscles on the posterior side of your shoulder and your back. If nothing else, you could shoot a bow with a lighter draw weight this year then gradually build up from there. In my opinion the doc is right, you should be good to go come August/Sept. Goodluck.

Postcorner he told me that rehab would be 4 months and I should be back to 100 percent in 6 months I had a tear and a detatchment if I understood it right, Im not a good listner but that seems to be what he told me!

That was my thoughts exactly of turning down the bow about 10-15 pounds and shooting a little shorter draw length this year!

Thanks for the + information!!!