Steiner Binocs

IdahoSmitty

I am no professional optics guy and I have had a pair of steiners 10x50 military marines for around 7 years now. I never hear of steiners being taked about on hear. I know there are a lot of optics pro's on here and I just wonder what you think about them. Do they suck? Do you like them? What do you like or don't like? I think mine are about done. I have found a lot of animals through them but are todays glass head and shoulders above my old glasses?

Back in the day Steiner was great glass, now seems like if you don't have the big 3 maker scope/binoculars, you don't have good glass. I don't own anything from the big 3, I have Leupold green ring bino and spotter and I have a Bushnell rangefinder. Everything I have ever heard about buying optics is get the best you can afford for the time being and when you can afford better then upgrade. Seems like most people don't like Steiner due to the weight they have, I remember them being quite big and bulky.
WVBOWAK

Is there any particular brands you have in mind? Can you get to a Sportsmans Warehouse or Cabelas to try out some of the glasses/spotters? Some pretty decent mid-line ones are Leupold, Nikon, Vortexx (which I regret not getting instead of my Leupolds), etc. Look around on here and maybe someone can give you a direction to head in. Hope this helps.
WVBOWAK