Swabbing

hunter1975

This has probably been beat to death but humor me. I was at cabelas the other day and told by the TC rep to put a little TC #13 on a patch and run it down the barrel between shots. Seemed to work ok at the range. Just wondering what you everyone here seems to carry with them in the field for swabbing after one or two shots. Anyone have a good combination thats easy to deal with in the field?

Also, it seems that the jag that came with my TC omega is a little annoying (3-4 inches long). I guess you just pack it around and when you need to swab or load screw it on your ramrod...unless someone has a better system thats faster and less cumbersome.

Thanks for the feedback!

My gun has the same impact point whether I shoot from a clean but primer fouled barrel or one that has fired a round or two. I am no expert but when I am in the field, I don't screw with patching in between shots. The only thing I do the day before the hunt is fire a cap through it to semi foul the barrel.

I carry a ziplock bag with a few patches slightly damp with windex. It cuts through fouling fast and evaporates faster.

-DallanC

I agree with fairchase, spit works great its cheap and i never run out.

Glen

In the duldroms of a hot summer, I have been known to come close to running out of spit (AARRGH!) but I just use my spit also. When I know it will be hot out, I always have a water bottle to "wet my whistle" at the range, if my patch happens to be in my mouth at the same time, all the better.

Out in the field, I carry a zip lock bag with a few patches, and again rely on my own spit. I have never swabbed between my shots out in the field, only while shooting for groups at the range do I worry about it.