Utah Hunt Info

BBB

Very Active Member
Has anybody else scanned through the utahhuntinfo website and cried afterwards? I had a friend look at his odds last night. He has three bonus points for elk. His dream hunt will take him well over 100 years to draw!!! He decided it was time to start putting in elsewhere. My mom, who is a resident, won't ever have the chance to hunt rutting elk above her house in her lifetime. I was a Utah resident for 26 years and enjoyed hunting my favorite deer and elk haunts throughout the state, but after looking at the chances of drawing a tag, especially the section called "amount of years to draw tag" I feel bad for those in the state that are looking to kill a decent buck or bull on a limited entry hunt! Many hunts will take over 120 years to draw!!! LOL. I drew my once-in-a-lifetime elk hunt a few years back fortunately. Personally, I would rather have the experiences out hunting and killing 5 or 6 nice 6 point bulls (around 300") than hunt once where I might have a chance at a 350+ bull.
I'm not bagging on Utah wildlife management and I'm not stirring the pot, but I do feel bad for Utah hunters that cant afford to go out-of-state that want a decent chance at some good elk hunting regularly. I know there are general season over-the-counter tags and I've hunted a lot of them with some luck, I mean a more decent hunt.
I am glad to live in a state where I have more hunting oppurtunity now, but it is still hard to see these sort of odds in a place I hold dear to my heart.
I'm sure I'll hear how some of you are happy that I don't live there anymore and keep my non-resident opinion to myself, just my .02 cents.

Can't win if you don't play the game. You always have a shot as half the tags go into a random draw w/o respect to BP's.