Youth points - oops

DoeNob

LAST EDITED ON Jan-14-13 AT 03:28PM (MST)[p]So I was trying to get a head start for my son and buy him some points, (he's 18 months old). I was going to buy some in Wyoming and Arizona. I didnt' put 2 and 2 together that you have to be legal hunting age to buy preference points, and I bought him a youth AZ license before I figured that out. Probably the smallest license holder in the history of Arizona at 2 foot 10 inches and 29 lbs, ha!

$27 mistake, I've made much worse mistakes.

Question though - why not allow points only purchases for youth before they are of age to do the hunt? I don't see how that is unfair and it would help him out if he had a dozen points in both states by the time he was big enough to go.

Heck ya! Why not I have been putting my dog in for 15 yrs! Now me with 1 point we put in together and up my odds to 7 wooty woo who!

Rutnbuck

Up until 5-6 years ago you used to be able to buy a point only for a child under the age of 10 in Arizona. I know this because I did it for my two boys. My 16 year old son already has 10 BP for big horn sheep. I only wished I knew about it sooner.

Even though all my kids are older than 10 I wish AZ G&F would still allow this practice to occur. First, it creates additional revenue for the dept because of the additional license sales. Even if you apply for a point only, you still have to buy a license. Does not matter how old you are. Secondly, it allows kids to be in the points game once they are 10 years old and able to apply for big game hunts. When they only get to start applying when they are ten, everyone else already has a head start on them. By the time they build up enough points, many times they have graduated from HS and gone off to college, military or moved out.

That's funny way to be thinking ahead. In Utah he would be 13 or 14 when he drew if he started now.