10 Preferance points for deer. Suggestions?

whtelk

I have 10 Pref. points for deer and I am a resident. Any suggestions on a better than average unit? I was also thinking about splitting the points and letting my friend put in with me, are there any units that is worth hunting with 5 points?

Without knowing what kind of hunting you like it is difficult to say. The late buck hunts are what I would look at but if you are splitting points with a friend who has none, there is almost no difference in quality of tags from between 2 points and 6. I would say the area closest to home so can spend more scouting time in the area before the season.

I am a cross over hunter and have been for 30 years. So archery late hunt or rifle, I am good enough with both...I cant spell profcieant. But if there truely isn't any good rifle hunts that we could draw with 5 points I won't be splitting my points.

LAST EDITED ON Dec-16-08 AT 01:33PM (MST)[p]Here is what I would do....Lookout Mountain if you split points, Mt Emily Late rut hunt if you dont. But this is coming from a guide that has hunted in both units in 2008. Check out the bucks we got in both units.
Go to the mule deer page for pics.

Bob Staples
Blue Mountain Adventures.com

The East Hebo rut hunt would be my first choice Dennis. I might know a spot or two where a big ole Cascade Blacktail hangs out! ;)

TK

Splitting points? I didn't think you could do that in Oregon? I thought if you applied for a hunt that only took 5 and you had more than that, you burned all of them. Or am I mis-understanding what you meant by splitting points?

This means if I apply with a person having zero points we would go into the draw with 5 each as a party.

Whtelk: I would look at the Metolius Archery hunt if you are looking for an archery tag. If you are looking for a rifle tag look at the MT Emily.... I would not waste your points on the Hart MT tag as that unit has really slipped in the last few years...