15 elk points..

ruttinelk393

I know this has been questioned before and I have read the past information, but I am now a non resident (archery hunter) and seem to be chasing the max points in the nw corner units. I know there are a few units to the south getting better, I just hate burning all my points on them, especially when they require much less. I had a friend muzzy hunt unit 10 last year and was very disappointed with what they saw. I understand CO is not near the same quality levels of AZ and UT, but I really want to be positioning myself to draw the best unit possible to give myself a quality chance at a 350 plust bull. Maybe that is unrealistic for CO at this time? Any input would be appreciated from those who are in the unit regularly or have hunted them in the last 3 years. Thanks!

Rutinelk ~

Your right, RFW is only for residents, but I am not aware of any RFW, except for possibly one (Hill Ranch), that produced the quality (350+) that you are looking for.

I would recommend that you hold tight for a few more years and continue to build your points, as your best chance for a 350+ archery bull is unit 201 which will take you atleast 17 pts. Last year there were 9 archery tags (only 1 non-res), with 100% success. They were not all 350+ bulls, but they are there!

The 2nd best archery unit is 2 - 17 pts / 1 non-res tag.
The 3rd best archery unit is 61 - 13 pts / 14 non-res tags.
The 4th best archery unit is probably 10 - 15 pts / 2 non-res tags.

Stryker

LAST EDITED ON Mar-06-09 AT 08:45PM (MST)[p]Ruttinelk ~

After doing a little more research your only foreseable options may be unit 61 or 10, as there are atleast 9 non-residents with 16+ points in front of you putting in for the 1 tag in 201, and atleast 4 non-residents with 16+ points putting in for the 1 tag in unit 2.

Since Colorado operates under the "most points win" system, the soonest you could draw either of these units would be 5 years from now. (20 years is an awful long time to wait!)