1st Time Bow Elk hunt/Granite OR

ORsouthpaw

We'll after yet another year of not getting a rifle tag for elk. We have decided to bow hunt for them. I have been shooting for the last 5 years so I'm confident in my shooting skills but I have never actually bow hunted for elk.

My question is what advice can you give me about bow hunting elk in general. What calls, scents or tactics or anything else? I've rifle hunted for a long time so I know I can be stealthy in the woods but I don't about all the other aspects of it.

My set up is a PSE Avenger, shooting Carbon Force arrows at 57lbs with 100gr NAP Thunderheads. My confortable range is 40 yards and in. We'll be hunting in the Umatilla NF near Granite, OR

Thanks
ORSouthpaw

I say watch calling to much ... oregon can get crowded and everybody wants to call in the big one( just like in the videos)may I ask what unit?

We'll be staying in the eastern part of Desolation so we most likley will be bouncing between that and Starkey. I'm not too worried about the big one. I'll take any legal animal so if I get a chance at juicy cow I'm not to proud to take her. Don't get me wrong though given the chance, a nice bull would be a dream come true.