2002 Wyoming Moose

RHarris

fc817e8f.jpg

Heres a pic of my 2002 Wyoming moose. He's not near as big as Predator's but it was a great time.
When we got up there a snow storm moved in. I got nervous about the weather and ended up taking the first bull we found.
We cut his track in the fresh falling snow, after over a mile of tracking we could here his love sick moans. I was able to get within 70 yards before I took him with my .270 Nosler hand loads. I wish I didn't have to wait another five years to start applying again.
I guess I will start applying in other states. Has anyone hunted Colorado for moose? Draw odds are not good but I am addicted to these homely beasts.

Thanks for sharing the pic . Nice moose . I have been saving my points in Wyoming for a few years going to start applying for a tag next year .

Conglads on the bull, Pretty long odds on drawing here in Colorado, I've been putting in for 10 years & no luck so far. I've got 4 points for WY, maybe I'll draw there next year !!

Nothing wrong with that moose, very nice. I've been buying my points for Wyoming, someday maybe I'll find one like that. Pretty sure I'll never draw a tag here in Colorado. Thanks

Thanks for sharing, and I might add, I had a lot of help from Blank with mine, without the snowstorm! Really, any OIL animal is a trophy in my mind.

But now do you want to hunt the other two subspecies like I do?

Lisa 35

Lisa,
The other two subspecies are definatly on my list. Like most everyone else here on MM I am a working stiff and its difficult at best to afford out of state hunts.
I think we should start another forum here on MM that people could offer up trade hunts, what do you think? I live in Southeastern Az and would be willing to offer my knowledge and time for any species in my area in exchange for any other north american big game animal.
Anyways, keep us up todate on your quests Lisa.

RHarris