2014 Hunting journal.

N

NoShot

[p][p align=right]Thread Views Counter....[/p]
I have thought about doing this for a couple years now. Obviously I'm going to give it a try.

Bare with me as I try to keep it entertaining and updated.

To start the year, as most here do and are familiar with the process, January is the start of application season. This year, my dad, son and I decided to keep burning some points off in Wyoming(last year was buck antelope) This year was to be Elk and mulie bucks. Back in February we got our Gen elk tags, and with 6 points going in on Region G deer should be a no brainer, and we'll keep our fingers crossed for a random antelope tag.

Utah, the draw was the draw.. No limited tags drawn, save for my sons Manti archery deer tag(dad and I are part of the hated Lifetime License group) so Manti archery tags for us as well and we'll all pick up archery elk tags when available.

I've been shooting the same bow for over 20 years! Old school hard cams and an over draw, PSE MachFlight 4.(you can laugh, but if it aint broke....) It's been time for a new bow for a long long time, but that bow has served me well, killed 21 deer and 9 elk but it was time to retire.

[IMG]http://i1140.photobucket.com/albums/n570/2011elkman/_3.jpg
The new PSE.

Also, for my birthday last week, my wife surprised me with a new Remington 7mm.
0601141541.jpg

I'm hoping to not need the 7mm to fill any tags this year, but going to do some heavy load development over the summer.

I hope I can do this HAC as well as those that have in years past!

shellsphone2012-07-19006.jpg

DSCF1158.jpg

Final tag count for Dad,son and myself.
3 Utah archery deer
3 Wyo Reg G deer
2 Wyo Elk
3 Utah archery elk(when on sale)

The Plan:
Opening 5 days: Utahs archery hunt stalking deer. There area we like for elk, seems to hold very few deer, and the area we like for deer holds few elk.

Last 7 days of the Utah archery elk, chasing elk.