243 wssm reloading problems....

338RUM

I have a problem folks...

I have been reloading all my own ammo for well over 20 years, and recently developed a problem with my 243 wssm.

First off, I am assuming it is a rifle problem, not a reloading problem. Factory ammo chambers fine, but is a little tight coming out after being fired.

When I resize, they will rarely chamber at all. I have checked and double checked all measurements..COL, case length, etc...

The funny thing is, i have cleaned the hell out of this rifle every time I have shot it, and since having the problem start, have cleaned the chamber better than I ever have, but I don't see or feel any buildup of any kind in there that would cause this. I have also used two different sets of dies just to make sure something wasn't wrong with my dies..

FYI, once fired, then resized, brass won't even chamber without a bullet in them.

Any theories...????

"We can have no "50-50" allegiance in this country. Either a man is an American and nothing else, or he is not an American at all".
Theodore Roosevelt

Sounds like you may have a rifle with excessive headspace?

Are you full length resizing (bumping the shoulders back?) What kind of resizing die?

horsepoop.gif

Disclaimer:
The poster does not take any responsibility for any hurt or bad feelings. Reading threads poses inherent risks. The poster would like to remind readers to make sure they have a functional sense of humor before they visit any discussion board.

I am full length resizing. I have used RCBS and Redding dies. I tried a couple just neck sizing with the same result..

"We can have no "50-50" allegiance in this country. Either a man is an American and nothing else, or he is not an American at all".
Theodore Roosevelt

Also, I have pulled a bullet out of factory ammo that seems to chamber ok and compared all case dimensions with a fired brass that has been resized and they are identical. It makes absolutely no sense to me....

Theodore Roosevelt