Archery hunting elk in area 36

D

diamondlangus

My brother and I are thinking of bow hunting area 36. We have never hunted Idaho before and just wanting to get a little advise. We hunt on foot, and like to pack in a couple of miles set up camp and then hunt the area. If there aren't any elk around or decide to move we will do that. What is the hunting pressure like in that area for archery season. Can we expect to see a lot of hunters, and how call shy are the elk. We will be going around Sept. 8 for about 5 days.

Thanks for any help you can give.

LAST EDITED ON May-09-08 AT 08:38PM (MST)[p]diamond,, you will be wasting your time..
i have been hunting unit 36 for over 20 years,and have been very sucsseful,, up until the last 3 years.. im telling ya that they have been almost completly wiped out..
i hunted over 20 days there during archery last year, i seen 2 bulls and less than ten cows,, and very very few tracks or any sign to speak of, and heard one bugle..
the few tracks i did find all had wolf tracks in them, every single one!!!
also i hunted all 10 days of the spike hunt pretty much the same story.
also hunted ten days during general rifle, there were 7 of us during rifle only three of us seen elk..

i ain't one of them fellas that just go around crying wolf,,
in fact i was the only one out of my hunting party that enjoyed hearing and seeing them,,i was the one that accused the rest of the boys of being paranoid and over reacting.
but now i am finaly convinced that the party is over..
here's why,,,,,,,,,,

#1 cowhunts have gone from 300 tags to 150 to 50 to 40 in the last 4or5 years.
#2 the late muzzleloader hunt has been elimanated from the A tag..
#3 the cow hunt is on the same time as the spike hunt and i talked to several cow hunters they were going the whole season without even seeing one single elk,, they all had the same old story about how they used to get there cow every year but the last few years have been a bust..