Az coyotes

C

codsteraz

I am fairly new to Az. I have lived here about a year or so. I brought my stuff down last weekend to hunt dogs and was wondering if anyone could point me in a general area. I am was wondering if you could hunt out torwards lake pleasant and the white mountains. I haven't bought a proclaimation yet so I am not sure on the season or anything i think I will get one tomorrow. Any advice needed. Don't need a honey hole just general direction. thanks

In Arizona the low desert is full of dogs. I've never been calling out by Lake Pleasant but be sure you are not on the Park Property. Out in the greasewood I'd get some elevation and be sure you have some clear lanes to shoot.

Where did you come from and what kind of country are you used to calling. I live in the White Mountains and there are some coyotes up here. That said, every time I get the chance to head lower I go. The desert has way more bobcats, foxes and coyotes. I do have some predator pages on my website that might help.

Ed, www.swhounds.com

Coyotes can be hunted year round, but Bobcats and fox close, if I remember right, the last day of March and opens again in August. If you go out past the White Tank Mtns, near the C.A.P. canal you will find lots of coyotes.

I came from utah so i am used to hunting sagebrush flats, cedars, kaibab ponderosa in southern utah. I have seen a lot more coyotes in Az than I have ever seen in utah from roads and they are always running across runways at deer valley airport so I thought I might give it a try. I am only a rookie at hunting these wiley animals. I have never killed one actually trying for them and calling them but I have killed them deer, elk, antelope and waterfowl hunting. Thanks for the help I really apreciate it. To me it looks like everywhere in the state would hold em. Its all great looking country.
cody