Best Round For Daughter's Rifle

cbeard

Very Active Member
OK guys time for a rifle for my daughter. She has the .243 my Daddy gave me but I think it is time for her to get a "lifetime" rifle. She is 14 and still a little recoil sensitive so I am thinking a 7mm-08 is the ticket. Low recoil yet plenty of punch with a 140 grain bullet @ around 2900 FPS. Should do her fine for whitetail and even if she goes elk hunting with me on occasion.

I have no experience with the round at all though so I would love to hear yours or any other suggestions.Thanks!

Before cartridge wars break out find a rifle that properly fits her and is not too heavy.....Other than that the 7-08 is a great round and would serve anyone well, but I'm a 308 whore so thats what I would buy her :)

"A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed."

+1 on the 270***I am picking the 270 for my little Grandchild because of the ammo availability. If you go out of town hunting or out of State you don't want to spend time running all over looking for hard to find calibers. Ammo for a 7mm-08 would be difficult to find in our area.

))))......>

LAST EDITED ON Dec-27-10 AT 07:05PM (MST)[p]My little sister started hunting at age 12 with a 270, and she's small. it's a great round and if the recoil is too much maybe an easybake oven is more in order, it's nothing.

440 smarta$$ comments unnecessary this is my daughter we are talking about here. Save it for the Political Forum or Campfire.

Cbeard I was just thinking about selling a 270win. I would install a limbsaver pad I have for it if you wanted it. Also you could start her out with some of the Remington reduced recoil loads to get her comfortable. PM me if you wanna talk.

God there's a bunch of up tight people here. this must be what the British royal surgeon forum is like.