Bullet seating depth help?

blazingsaddle

I have been reloading for a few years now. Up till last week I have seated my bullets to match some factory loads. My accuracy has been fair, but I think it could be better. Instead of changing powder amounts, I though first I would check my OAL for my gun.

I have a Stoney Point OAL gauge. I also followed what it said in one of my reloading manuals about proper seating depth. If I follow either process, I come up with a OAL that is roughly .2756 longer than what I have been shooting. Its more than a quarter inch longer OAL.
Is this normal, to have that much discrepancy? Also with the longer OAL i don't have much bullet seated in the case. I would have .2990 seated in the case for my 7mm stw. (.284") Is this enough? I seated a dummy round at the longer OAL, and it looked very odd.
Or am I not finding the proper OAL to begin with? I found the Stoney Point gauge to be difficult to use and get consistant numbers with.
Can anyone help?

Have you tried chambering the dummy round and checked to see if it will fit in your magazine? How did you check the OAL for your gun? To the lands?

I did not try it in my magazine, I will when I get home.

I tried to fit it to the lands, I think. I followed the directions on the Stoney Point OAL gauge. Are you familiar with it at all? (cause I'm obviously not) It was very hard to get consistant numbers. How do I tell if it hits the lands? The directions said it takes some practice, to get the "feel" of it.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the lands the only thing that will stop the bullet, or give enough resistance to push it back into the case?

How do you find an accurate OAL for your guns?