Cleaning Solutions and Procedures?

landop

Im new to muzzleloading and just got a new Traditions Sporter 209 inline and was looking for some pointers on between shot cleaning procedures, after a day of shooting cleaning, and solutions i should use. In the owners manual it has vague instructions and of course advertise their products but i know some of u have better and more helpful advice.
Thanks in advance!

What I do may not be the standard procedure for most of the muzzle loader crowd. I use a 50%/50% solution of Murphy's Oil Soap (liquid) and isopropyl alcohol. Have used this mixture for years now with good results. Use it to swab the bore between shots and also for the good general cleaning after a practice session or a day in the field. Anyone else use this? Cowtag

There are plenty of cleaners you can use, I've never tried the oil soap & alcohol, sounds like a nice-smelling recipe. I just use the Thompson T7 cleaner you can buy at the store. Squirt some on a patch, run it down and back. Flip patch over and repeat. I usually scrub just a little right at the bottom where the powder was sitting to remove the extra fouling. That's my procedure between shots and it works great. I think any water based cleaner that provides a little lubrication would work well.

For a thorough cleaning I remove the breech plug and swab the bore with patches until they come out clean. I take a round brush with powder solvent and clean the threads to remove all the old "grease". I clean the breech plug thoroughly with water and a brush, and chase the flash hole with some kind of metallic implement. Prior to putting it back it I run a lightly oiled patch down the bore to remove any debris from thread cleaning and to prevent rust. Then I apply new grease (I use anti-seize) to the threads and reinstall. Lightly oil the surface of the gun and she's all done.

Thanks for the input guys! It will get me started. I'm planning on experimenting with BH209 powder, and triple 7 pellets.