CO muzzy help

lostinOregon

Very Active Member
Read as much as I can about the CO rules. I am new to MZ hunting so it still is a bit confusing. I have a Knight 50 cal Bighorn. I will be using 209 primers but after that I am open to suggestions.

What primer, powder and bullet do you recommend for deer?

I am confused on what powders are legal. I want o buy a few different brands of primers, bullets and powder and see what type of accuracy I can get.

Also read quite a bit about sights. Looking at peep sites, what are your thoughts for the bighorn.

As always, thanks for your advice,

Rich

Hey Rich,

I've been muzzy hunting for about 5 years now and I really enjoy it. I've only been elk hunting and have yet to take down my 1st animal, so I'm far from an expert.

I'm using the 209 primers and just switched to Blackhorn 209 powder. It's supposed to burn cleaner. I have some new Hornady FPB bullets to try out - 350 grain. I shoot a .50 cal CVA Optima, fiber optic sights. I've been shooting 777 powder and Powerbelts with good accuracy. 100 yards is my max and that has to be ideal conditions.

You must use loose powder, no pellets. Not sure about peeps, but a guy I hunt with has one on his Hawken and it works for him.

Did you hunt around Gunnison last year? How did it turn out?

lostinOregon,
I too have a Knight Bighorn in .50 cal. I have killed a cow elk with it useing powerbelt bullets and tripple 7 loose powder.
I did not like the accuracy much but being it was open sights only, I figured I could live with it. With a 250 gr. shockwave sabot it's a tack driver. I would look into some White bullets.
I would also recomend the buckhorn 209 powder for your pet load.
Have never tried the powerbelts with the arrow tip or the new controled-expantion models that should have better performance.

My 45 yd. shot on the cow (through the ribs) did not exit. a second shot was needed at 15 ft. and it also failed to exit. The peep sight should be legal as it has no magnification.