CO Muzzy Help

NorthSide

I'm fairly new in the muzzleloader world, as I've been an archery hunter for years. I drew my first muzzleloader hunt in Colorado Unit 70. I have Rem 700 ML and would love some suggestions on primers, lead, and powder? Colorado does not allow pelletized powder or sabots, not sure on the primers.

Thanks NS

Powders: In the order I like them:

BH 209 (if it works in your rifle, I don't know). I use Remington Premium STS primers with this powder. Have to use one of the more powerful 209 primers.

777: 2f powder. I use Winchester 777 primers with this. They are reduced in strength to try and prevent what is called the "crud ring" that 777 can leave in the breech area after each shot.

pyrodex RS or Select: Still a great powder as far as accuracy, just more prone to rust. Not really a problem, just have to clean your rifle each time you use it (the same day).

Bullets: Kind of depends on what you are hunting (elk/deer?). I personally use the Hornady 350 grain FPB for both deer and elk. I love them. However, you have to remove the plastic tip or cut it off flush with the front of the bullet so it doesn't exceed the legal length.

Others to try are the no excuses 460 grain (if you are hunting elk), and powerbelts (300gr platinum or 348 aerotip for deer/ 338 platinum or 405 aerotip for elk)

As you can tell, I tend to like the heavier end of bullets. Just my personal preference.

If you can find a good conical that will be accurate in your gun other than powerbelts, you will save money and IMO the other bullets hold together better when they encounter bone.

ALSO: DO NOT BUY INTO THE MAGNUM HYPE. My elk load is 90 grains of BH209. Anywhere from 80 to 110 gr of blackpowder equivalent is plenty of powder to kill any animal in Colorado. Personally I would never exceed 120 gr of loose powder.