Damaged Bullet Question

Joe2Kool

Very Active Member
What kind of accuracy impact would you expect from the bullet in the attached pic? I have 8 boxes of them. All dented like that.

I bought 10 boxes when I found them in late 2020. Federal Fusion, 300 WM, 165 grain. I was shooting 1"+ groups at 100 yards with my old boxes. Once I started shooting from the 10 box order, groups opened up. Now, I scrape them across some 220 grit sandpaper and group size is about 2".

I'm not a hand loader so I'm not sure what my options are. If it is an issue. Opinions welcomed! (Oh no, I'm sure that opens up a can of worms! :D :D )

Bullet Point.PNG

Since you have 10 boxes with damaged tips, and not a reloader. The only thing I can come up with is to file down the lead tips to where it is flush with the copper jacket tip. Then try to shoot a 3 or 5 shot group to see if the accuracy improves. Those damaged lead tips will cause you to loose accuracy.
If you were a reloader I would tell you to pull the bullets and load new bullets into the cases.
If you file down the tips, that small flat point will effect bullet drop at long range, but should be fine up to 300 yards before you see a big difference in bullet drop impact at ranges exceeding 300 yards.
RELH

Since he bought them 3 years ago, I do not think Federal will be willing to replace them. Federal will probably tell him that those bullets were damaged while being transported and the bullets bouncing around in the package with the soft lead nose striking the container they were in.
One reason why I carry my ammo box nose up when transporting then in a vehicle on rough roads. I have seen many bullets like this in the past as they are very prone to damage due to the very soft pointed lead tip.