Deer Help

Ticks N Tines

Very Active Member
I'm going to start building some points for deer the next few years and I'm just wondering what is going to be my best bet. I'm looking at the units that are close to the Utah border.
Would I be better off getting a Region K general tag or should I put in for a limited quota permit for unit 102? I'm pretty new to this Wyoming stuff, but I really want to figure it all out. I'm not looking for a trophy buck, just something decent and a fun area to hunt with lots of critters.
Can anybody help me out??? Even if there's a good unit that's not on the border I would consider that too, I just want to hunt Wyoming and be able to scout it too.
Thanks,
Matt

I'm confused what you're asking. If you're really building points for the next few years, just simply do that. I wouldn't begin to worry about where you want to hunt until you're ready to apply. The answer could be very different a few years from now.

If you're not planning to hunt his year, i would put in for the PP & start planning for a future hunt. If you live close by spend a little time in a couple of units to see which appeals to you than research how many points it will take to draw the tag.
7 Mag

That's what I'm planning on.
I want to buy a point this year and next and then in 2011 I would like to start applying. I'm trying to get a good idea of what I should do before I go into something blindly. I'm basically asking you guys what my best chance at killing a 150-160 class buck would be with 2 points. I'm willing to do whatever is necessary and I will do all the research. I'm just looking for a unit that has a good pop of deer and that I can go out and have a good chance at seeing some bucks.

On the first video of the "Never Enough" videos, paul and about 8 of his buddies hunt a part of Wyoming and they all kill 4 points in the first few days. That looked like an awesome hunt, any have any idea where that was at??? (Probably private)

HJ,