General Muzzle loading questions

Paradox

Hi All,
I am fairly new to muzzleloading but have found the discussions here to be invaluable!
Thanks for letting me lurk and learn.
I have a few questions however.
I have a CVA buckhorn 209 50 cal. I notice the composite stock is fairly tight to the barrel. Is this as big a problem as other rifles, should the barrel be free floated?
While working up a load last summer I shot a few 150gr loads and noticed the primer had blown off the nipple a couple times. How worried should I be about that? From reading here it seems most recommend lower powder charges for better accuracy. I have and will use the rifle to hunt deer where shots could be 200 yards. I feel 900-1000FP energy is the least you should hit a deer with.
Any suggestions? am I expecting too much from a muzzleloader?
Thanks for the help.
Ed

First you did not say what you are shooting 150gr.of. What powder? You could be above recommended charge. Next, I have never seen any reason to shoot anything over 100gr. equivalent of black powder. Trying to shoot 200 yards with a muzzleloader requires a lot of practice and a good scope. The kill zone on a deer gets pretty small at 200 yards. I hunt elk and try to keep my shots at 100 yards but with a 300gr. bullet and 90gr. of Black Mag 3 I have shot competely through an elk in the lung area. Give us a little more information and we will continue to help.

Ive had 2 staghorns ( old model buckhorns) and they had tight fitting stocks to the barrel, they both shot excellent. Removing the material isnt hard to do. Will it help with accuracy? It might.

the buckhorn uses a plunger system and im not surprised that the primer falls out with that much powder. Keep it around 100gr and the recoil will be much calmer and accuracy will be there as well.

200 yards is a long shot and will take a lot of practice, i wouldnt say its a good idea for the weekend warrior to go out to the range a few times and then think he can do 200 yards easily.