Horse Problems

dirtygrass

I am new to horse ownership, I have had my horses for a year now. I ride almost every weekend and have never had a problem with either horse. The last two weekends my 11 year old horse stopped on the trail and would not go any where. I got off and with about 20 minutes of work I got him to move by leading him. I led him for about a half hour and got back on with no problems. I feel this may become a bigger problem if I don't fix it. I talked to some of my cowboy friends and they told me spurs should work, but being new to horses I am a little worried about how he will react.

Any suggestions would be great.

I'm NOT a horse guy and have been on just a few over the years but I remember when I was on a Stone sheep hunt and my horse did the exact same thing. The guide said "let him know who's boss. Kick him and make him move where you want him to go".
The horses name was Soldier and we got along perfectly for the balance of the hunt. He ended up hauling me over some nasty passes.

The replies will be interesting when the real horse guys chime in.

Good luck to you,
Zeke

When properly mounted in the saddle if you reach forward between his ears and using a downward angle pointing toward his muzzle a single .40 S&W slug should do the trick. Just make sure you can step off quickly so as to not get pinned under his weight. The problem is usually solved rather quickly.

Sorry, just kidding... mostly...