Hunting in New mexico

Bates7

I'm an AZ native and I've hunted in AZ all of my life. I'd like to broaden my horizons a little bit and give NM a shot. I'm asking for a lttle info on where to start looking for a good elk and deer unit. Remember that I'm a NM rookie hunter and when a guy pays almost $800 for a nonres. elk tag, it's no small investment. Thanks for all of your input.

Bates7

are u looking for a trophy huntin or just to enjoy the hunting in the wilderness..Az are closer to GILA where they produce very bulls and it is ur best choice to hunt there in any weapons!

and for deer...it is scatters around NM where the big bucks are..

hope some of us ll point u in better directions...GOOD LUCK!

vinihunt

LAST EDITED ON Nov-26-08 AT 08:02AM (MST)[p]Thanks Vin. As far as trophy hunting goes, I haven't quite figured out how to eat bone. I'm more of a meat hunter. But that doesn't mean that I woudn't put the smack down on a nice 6x6 bull. Also I just like plain ol' huntin'.

well lets start off with on of the quality hunts in my opinion the valle vidal is still one of the best places to hunt its once in a lifetime. but the place is amazing its probably my favorite place to hunt. I've already gone hunting there but i guide there any chance i get. its ranges from subalpine to ponderosa and everything in between its got a good elk pop if yu bump one you just keep going and get on another one, there are some 360 class bulls out there but your gonna have to find them and hunt hard to stay on them I personaly think a 300 is a good average bull I've guided a hunter who toke a 7x7, 8x7, and know of an 8x8 that came out, he was real close to the vermejo ranch and don't dought that he used to cross from on place to the other.
the gila is my second place to hunt I think if I didn't live so far from it that would be my prime area but hay we can't be every where at once
if you decide to come out well do some more chatting so i can give you some other spots to think about.