Jack Russel or Rat Terriers ??

D

D13er

My son needs a pup. I would like to get him a medium sized terrier. About a 20 pounder. Anybody have any ? crosses are OK

JB

LAST EDITED ON Mar-16-07 AT 09:06PM (MST)[p]D13'r,

I don't know anyting about a Rat terrier. I've got a JRT that is my shadow. He is a bit big for a Jack at 18 pounds and 15" at the shoulders. If you get one your son will have to be dedicated to giving the dog lot's of attention and exercise which they thrive on. If they become bored they can be a real problem. Gettig through the first 1.5 years can be a trial but if you get a good one and raise it right it will be a great companion with amazing stamina.

Sparkey
KariAbriweekendNov7-9-03064.jpg
i

I forgot to add that they are true killers of anything that is small and furry, from Mice to Marmots.

BeanMan

This is my first time trying to post a pic on MM I hope it works. I gotta tell you, Jacks like to run and play. They chase anythin hairy or with feathers. This dog has been of great assistance with many coyote hunts of mine. He is a rather large Jack at 15" and very wirey haired. His name is Cache.

LAST EDITED ON Mar-16-07 AT 10:26PM (MST)[p]http://www.monstermuleys.info/dcforum/User_files/45fb6dcf40557c94.jpg

JRT's are neat dogs but they have an oh my got amount of energy. I thought my German Shorthair's were a hand full until I spent some time around a JRT.

When you are copying it you aren't scrolling the page far enough to get the entire link.

JB

45fb6f8a483a261e.jpg

Thanks for helping me out. Here is a closer look at my dawg. He is a bundle of joy for the family. Smart and obedient if raised right.

Jack Russels are good, alot of times they can be tough around strangers and other dogs. I had a male that was a great family dog but he thought he was 10 feet tall and was not afraid of anything. He would almost chock himself, while on a leash, pulling to try to get at a dog two blocks away. Very protective/agressive.