Movin' to Nevada

alinrut

Well, hello Nevada thread...wanted to introduce myself on here since you'll be seein' me post here and there. I'm about to close out my military career and retire after 24 years (just dropped the paperwork so it's 12 months away) and it looks like I'm moving to the Reno area to be closer to family for the wife and boy. My big questions: 1) how's the hunting lifestyle in NV for Deer/Elk/'Lope's? 2)Do you recommend putting in for points this year in order to accumulate for when I'm a resident? 3) Is it friendly hunting for kid's? for example my son's cow tag is good through 31JAN here in CO, Colorado IMO is pretty good for kid's opportunities

thanks in advance for any comments...good-bad-indifferent, I realize I'm another import!!!

al

https://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10100438301656978

this is a link to a video a friend of mine put together from my hunt this year in Colorado...I'm proud of the hunt, and the friends who were there for me...just thought I'd share it with ya'll in NV.....we were up at about 11,000 feet

I'm curious if that's the type of hunting in NV for elk as well, and what to look forward to when I move there in the next year and a half

al

"if I see you on the mountain, it's my own damn fault!!! I didn't get far enough away from the road!!!!"

Nv's good for kids with the youth deer tags. For the rest of us, depending upon what you shoot, you will need some points to draw a tag. Everything is a draw so you may as well start buying them now. Once you draw a tag, the quality of animals is second to none.