New Resident

C

COBOHNTR

Hello all, I am new to the state of CO. "The Springs" area.. I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on public land hunts? I have the reg book and got some great info but I thought some general areas from some veteran hunters would give me a good start for next season. Right now I only have a map for San Isabel Nat. Forest but according to the regulations this is a CWD unit? Does that mean no hunting or just a caution? Any areas around The Springs? I want to get into the mountains and start poking around just not sure where to start..

Any info would be greatly appreciated!!
COBOHNTR

Welcome COBOHNTR
I'm from the Springs as well. There are some real trophies in the surronding units both for deer and elk, unfortuneatly almost all the best hunting is locked up thru outfitters on private lands. There is great fishing in the Pikes Peak region. To answer your question, you can hunt in units with CWD, just a caution. Pm me if you would like to chat some more, welcome again.

Don't have any info for you on the area you asked about, just wanted to say welcome to MM and congrats on the move to Colorado. You are in a beautiful area, albeit overcrowded.

Mark

LAST EDITED ON Sep-09-08 AT 11:29AM (MST)[p]I started the same process you are toward the end of last year. Tons of public land for you really...

Start here...http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/
Scroll down the page and keep your eye on the right side panel of the page. Under helpful links you'll find GMU unit maps (with option to display Nat Forest, etc.) and also have a gander at the western slope hunting guides. They include unit descriptions, population info, and historical harvest stats. A pretty good place to start. I haven't seen guides for the east half of the state. But the maps and those guides will get you a long way.