NR 60/40 split Question for NR's

mulecreek

Very Active Member
Assuming the change to 60/40, special/regular, change goes through how many of you that are currently putting in for the regular price licenses will switch to the special price license?

How many of you that wont pay the special fee are going to drop out entirely assuming your odds with regular fees drop dramatically?

Many have said that this change make things better for those that are rich. Is a price difference of $240 for deer and antelope or $480 for elk really the difference between rich and middle class? Don't get me wrong I do not agree with switching the percentage. I am a resident and did not fight against it either but to me it is not a game changing difference in cost. NR tags are pricey in every state and to me the difference is negligible given all the other costs associated with an out-of-state hunt. I am curious what others feel.

As an individual who likes to hunt and makes a limited amount of money, because I have 3 other individuals at home who depend upon me for their sustinence, that little amount of extra cash can go a long way in my home. The only way I will put in for special would be to cash in my points, get out of the system and not play the Wyoming game anymore. Since I will be hunting Wyoming, I will try and do it all in the regular draw.

My family will still apply for regular price tags, unless there is a special circumstance. The percentage change will make it harder on NR families to draw simply because it reduces the number of licenses available for the youth price. Out of state hunting is a luxury, but it makes it harder for my kids to draw permits. Not whining, just stating a fact.

To me it's not whether I can afford it, But is it worth paying the extra $1000ish dollars total for the tags. I probably won't pay the special price unless I want to get a tag and a point in the same year. With this change, Wyoming will lose money on my family.