NV - worth it?

MNHunter

I've been applying for 7 years now in many states. I've beat the odds a couple times and drew OIL tags though I haven't drawn the holy grail (IMO) of tags?a sheep tag. I skip OR, CA, ID, & NV. Every year I think about putting in for NV and building points but never do. I think I'd be like 18 years behind now. I know all about how they square points etc. What do you guys think? Do you all apply for NV because you get 3 sheep species for the lic fee? I'm still relatively young (30), should I just do it? I supposed I'd apply for Elk as well but that be about it...is NV worth it?

"Whatever you are, be a good one."
- Abraham Lincoln

If you ever want to draw a desert sheep tag NV could be your best chance. There are some units (certainly not the best sheep gene units) that have pretty decent odds, even for NR. The game is expensive any way you look at it, but if you are 30, you still have lots of years to draw. Good luck!

If you live far away (Minnesota I assume) and will only be applying for deer and elk, I would consider skipping Nevada.

It will take you 5-10 years to draw a deer tag and probably 12-15 years to draw an elk tag and you'll have quite a bit of money invested by the time you get a tag.

With those same dollars you could purchase permits/guided hunts in many other states.

If money is not any issue then throw your name in the hat.

If you are hoping to draw a Desert Sheep Tag then Nevada is a must apply for state. Just know that there's a chance you may never draw that permit in your lifetime, but it is possible.

LAST EDITED ON Apr-01-10 AT 03:35PM (MST)[p]Its a good question. I guess it depends on what you really want to hunt. Mountain goat is next to impossible. However, if you are really interested in hunting the other species its actually not too bad. $140 or so dollars for a license plus around $13.50 additional per species.

6 species= $221 (my numbers are probably a little off)

Around $37 dollars per species.