packs

Powder

LAST EDITED ON Nov-14-05 AT 01:02PM (MST)[p]I've seen where many of you make recommendations about which packs you like (badlands, eberlestock, etc) but are there any that in your opinion I should stay away from? Some that you haven't had a good experince with.

I hate to give negative opinions but I'm new to this type of hunting and would prefer not to spend a large amount of money on a pack but I also don't want to get stuck with a low quality pack.

Thanks.

Have the just one pack love it, have a badlands 2200 great pack, have a bull pack and it sucks. No hip support. Russ

I have a bullpac and love it. The main reason is if I can handle the weight it will carry it. I dont bone out my game. Quarter or half it, tie it to the pack frame, and off I go. The other packs sound good this one just suited my needs better.

I have the Badlands 2800 pack which I've used on two deer hunts and just got finished testing the Eberlestock Just one pack on my first elk hunt. The Eberlestock pack was very comfortable and has some nice features. I put my spotting scope and tripod into the rifle scabbard which worked out very well and there was plenty of storage space. But it didn't hold up for me. The first day I used it the mesh and cloth where the straps are sewn on ripped apart with minimal weight inside my mesh pocket and later one of the top pockets ripped while I was carrying out my elk head and antlers. I love this pack but it will need a couple of improvements which I've already read on this site have been addressed. I will now try and get mine replaced with the improved model. My Badlands pack has given me no trouble and is also very comfortable. The 2800 is not quite big enough for my needs but it has not shown any sign of break down or ripping and I've had a complete boned out deer on it this year. I feel that both packs are a great choice and only your personal preference can decide which is the one for you. fatrooster.