proof of sex

BigPig

Very Active Member
I'm a non resident. If I have to quarter and pack out an animal, do I need to leave proof of sex attached?

yes. See page 44 of the Proclamation.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks/2010_biggame/2010_biggame.pdf

Transporting big game within Utah
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-19

You must obey the following rules to transport
big game in Utah:

? The head or sex organs of the animal you've
taken must remain attached to the largest
portion of its carcass.

? If you take an elk on a spike bull unit, the
antlers must remain attached to the animal?s
skull plate, and you must transport the
skull plate and antlers with the carcass.

? You must accompany the carcass of any big
game animal you've harvested, and you
must have a valid permit that corresponds
to the tag that's attached to the carcass.
There is one exception to this rule: you may
transport a big game animal you did not take if
you obtain a shipping permit or a disposal receipt
from the Division, or you have a donation slip. You
may not donate big game in the field.

For the archery hunt it shouldn't matter because you can shoot a bull or a cow. Better safe than sorry though.

4b1db2ac644136c4.jpg

Actually it does matter on the archery hunt. The F&G need to be able to tell if it is a spike, cow or a Mature bull (depending on the unit your hunting). You also have to pack out the head of a spike. They can site you for a violation if you don't leave proof of sex.

I have also heard there some units where you cant shoot a cow with archery equipment.

4a7d1f93337c7fd7.jpg

There are no big bucks in Utah! LOL

If you have sex you best keep it to yourself. YOu don't need to prove it to anyone. Never kiss and tell

Rutnbuck

I bone everything harvested out--big game--I always leave the nut sack attached to the hind quarter meat and pack it last into my cooler so it is readily available if I get checked.

If it is a cow I do the same with the 4 nipple udder....

Viva Monroe!

Robb