Realistic goals for mountain goat hunting?

flyingbrass

What are realistic goals for mountain goats? It will be an August hunt in British Columbia.
flyingbrass
cold dead hands
NRA Life Member

I guess it depends on the quality of the unit but I'd say in BC you should be able to get a 9 1/2 inch billy. Start judging as many as you can and figuring out what 10 inches looks like on curved horns. Don't forget to figure out the mass measurements. If there are a lot of goats plan to hunt hard and go for one that will book 52".

Before I hunted goats I used to think they all looked the same. That was before I started studying the nuances. Now I really appreciate the trophy quality of a big billy. Some people will say, "what is really the difference in 1" of horn--who cares". You can tell if you look at enough animals. Anything over 10" in my book is a really big goat. Start talking 10+ and you have something special-especially with some mass.

Its too bad you don't have a later hunt when you can get one with long hair. I think the hair hide is the best part of the trophy.

I guarantee you will be in some incredible country. Goat hunting is where its at!

Make sure you order a copy of "a beast the color of winter" by Chadwick. This is the definitive book on mountain goats in my opinion. Chadwick used to write for national geographic and undertook a 7 year study of goats where he basically lived with them. His observations are probably the basis of modern day mountain goat management. You will read that book and come away with a serious facination for that animal. You can tell I'm a little extraordinarily interested in goats.

Well being an August hunt I know you are heading into northern BC. Are you hunting the east or west side?