Reloading "shavings"

HuntElk4Fun_

I've been reloading for a very long time. I recently shifted to 160 gr AB's for my 7mm. I started with some factory 2nds to sight in the gun, work up my load, etc. Anyway, I recently came upon some Nickel brass exactly like my normal RP headstamps. Today I worked up some loads for my elk hunt next week using some brand new AB's. I noticed when I would seat each bullet small, fine shavings from the bullet would appear around the neck. These would break right off if I ran my finger around, etc. Still, I've NEVER run into this before. Any thoughts? This is my first time playing with Nickel brass, is it just tougher and peels a thin layer of the bullet off as it seats? Should I be concerned? My first thought, although it's very minimal amount of shavings, that the bullet is no longer it's original weight and shape, thus performance may not be 100% as expected. Finally, is this normal with "nickel" vs. standard brass?

Any thoughts would be very helpful!

ODDNUT1
Kirt C.
Hunt Odds.com

Nickeled brass is indeed harder than standard brass. I wouldnt say that its normal, but I dont know that its gonna hurt anything. I have had nothing but bad luck/results with nikeled brass, its harder to size and they dont seem to last as long.

Loaded another 20 tonight using the same box of AB's but with "normal" brass vs. the nickel, no problems. Weird indeed. I'm very thorough on my steps, wondering if I goofed something along the way. Can't think of what, I'm puzzled.

ODDNUT1
Kirt C.
Hunt Odds.com

I'm sure you probably did, but did you chamfer the mouths?